The Traffic Safety Commission consists of seven (7) members appointed to a three year term by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. A City Council member who is a liaison to the Commission, has full voting rights but is not be eligible for election as an officer. Applicants must be city residents. Recently the Traffic Safety Commission has met infrequently, probably two or three times per year, in large part due to use by the Police Department of a Speed Monitoring Awareness Radar Trailer that is placed on streets in response to speeding complaints. The Traffic Safety Commission usually meets on the fourth Monday evening of a month.

Duties of the Traffic Safety Commission include:

  • Researching, developing, and implementing coordinated traffic safety programs which meet local needs.
  • Acting in an advisory capacity to the City Council and the City Administrator in the coordination of traffic safety activities of the official agencies and departments of the City of Gladstone.
  • Upon request, providing research and furnishing information to other official agencies of the City of Gladstone.
  • Promoting public acceptance of official programs proposed or instigated by the city.
  • Fostering public knowledge and support of traffic law enforcement and traffic engineering problems.
  • Coordinating with the public and private school systems of the city in promoting traffic safety aids in the schools and promoting the education of the public on traffic safety.
  • Assisting in the overall reduction of traffic accidents, injuries, and deaths on the city’s streets.

Traffic Safety Commissioner:Term Expires:
Linda Cosgrove12-31-17
Yvonne McNeil12-31-19
Kenneth Moore12-31-18
Denise Browning12-31-17
Libby Pace-Wentz12-31-19
Kirk Stempel12-31-19
Susan Liston12-31-17
Neal Reisner - Council Rep